AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: DeepSeek’s Efficiency Reputation Meets A Reported $16 Billion Raise on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tech for your team

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Bloomberg, Reuters, The Wall Street Journal and The Information have reported that DeepSeek raised about 100 billion yuan, with The Information putting the closed round at 106 billion yuan, or about $15.9 billion. DeepSeek has not publicly confirmed the fundraising, and reports differ on the amount and the role of state-backed investors.

DeepSeek has reportedly closed a funding round worth about 100 billion yuan, or roughly $15 billion to $16 billion, a scale that would mark a major change for the Chinese AI lab known for developing models with comparatively limited spending. The company has not publicly confirmed the raise; reports differ on the final amount and on which investors took part.

Bloomberg, Reuters and The Wall Street Journal reported on Oct. 22 that DeepSeek had raised about 100 billion yuan. Reuters, citing four people, described the round as still wrapping up at that point. On Oct. 23, The Information reported that the funding had closed. Its Oct. 30 account put the total at 106 billion yuan, equivalent to about $15.9 billion. The lower figure converts to about $15 billion. The outlets have not reported a public confirmation from DeepSeek.

The reports place the company’s pre-money valuation at about 500 billion yuan, or roughly $74 billion. Bloomberg and Reuters identify battery maker CATL and Tencent among the largest investors. Reuters also names Midea, Meituan, Geely and chipmaker GigaDevice, alongside existing shareholders and investment funds. Those investor details come from reporting based on sources, not a published DeepSeek announcement or newly reported company registry filing.

The Information has also reported that the round includes major state-backed institutions. Newsletter summaries of its account say China’s state chip fund led the round and that state capital made up 27%; the source material says those specifics could not be independently verified and have not been reported by a second outlet. The amount, investor mix and terms should therefore be treated as reported, rather than confirmed company disclosures.

At a glance
reportWhen: Reported Oct. 22-30, 2026; DeepSeek has…
The developmentThe Information reported on Oct. 30 that DeepSeek closed a funding round of 106 billion yuan, following earlier reports of a roughly 100 billion-yuan raise.
Thorsten Meyer AI
Funding

Infographic 01 · Two rounds in six months

From self-funded to $74 billion.

DeepSeek took no outside money until 2026. Then came two rounds, a paused deal and a U.S. order, all in six months.

~100bnyuan in the second round, about $15 billion (Bloomberg, Reuters, WSJ); The Information: 106bn yuan, $15.9bn
~500bnyuan pre-money valuation, about $74 billion (Reuters, WSJ)
15+investors in the second round (Reuters)
0public statements by DeepSeek on the round, as of 30 Oct

How the price moved

Reported valuations, U.S. dollars

  • April · talksfirst round, The Information$20bn+
  • June · after round 1post-money, investor filings~$52bn
  • October · before round 2pre-money, Reuters / WSJ~$74bn
  • October · after round 2my arithmetic: 500 + 100bn yuan~$89bn

The striped bar is my calculation (about 600 billion yuan), not a reported figure. Exchange rates vary between outlets.

Who owned DeepSeek after round 1

Share of registered capital, July 2026, as reported by Caixin

60.19%Liang Wenfeng via Ningbo Cheng’en, a partnership he controls31.01%Liang Wenfeng directly8.52%Hangzhou Chengli, the vehicle for the other outside investors~0.28%National AI Industry Investment Fund (state), held directly

Registered capital is not the same as economic value. The October round is not yet in any reported filing.

  1. 22 Apr 2026Tencent and Alibaba in talks, valuation above $20 billionThe Information · first round, talks only
  2. 16 Jun 2026Round 1 closes: more than 50bn yuan ($7.4bn), “unusual deal structure”The Information · Liang 20bn, Tencent ~10bn, CATL 5bn yuan (Reuters, Caixin)
  3. 25 Jul 2026Round 2 paused after a purported investor transcript went viralBloomberg
  4. 6 Oct 2026Round may double to 100bn yuan; state-backed funds and companies “jostling”CNBC
  5. 20 Oct 2026U.S. order: DeepSeek products out of federal civilian ITDHS, Federal Register 2026-21447
  6. 22 Oct 2026About 100bn yuan raised · Reuters: “wrapping up”, “not ironclad”Bloomberg, Reuters, WSJ
  7. 23 Oct 2026Closed at 106bn yuan ($15.9bn), three people sayThe Information
  8. 30 Oct 2026Investor details: tech titans and “state-backed institutions”The Information

Sources: The Information, 22 Apr 2026; The Information, 16 Jun 2026; The Information, 23 Oct 2026; The Information, 30 Oct 2026; Reuters, 22 Oct 2026; Bloomberg, 22 Oct 2026; WSJ, 22 Oct 2026; CNBC, 6 Oct 2026; Caixin, 17 Jul 2026; DHS order, Federal Register, 20 Oct 2026. Arithmetic marked as mine.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

A New Funding Scale for DeepSeek

A raise of this size would give DeepSeek substantial new capital as it competes in a field where developing and serving advanced AI models requires investment in computing, research and infrastructure. It also puts the lab’s reputation for cost-efficient development alongside questions about who will finance its next phase and what influence new investors may hold.

For customers and developers, the fundraising reports do not by themselves indicate a change to DeepSeek’s products, privacy practices or model licences. The reported round does, however, make ownership and governance more relevant: organizations weighing the service need to distinguish between the company’s hosted app and API, and model weights they can run on their own systems. The reported investment is not evidence of a change in either option.

Products Worth Considering

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (12th Generation, 2024), 32 GB, Metallic Black

Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition (12th Generation, 2024), 32 GB, Metallic Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Two Rounds, Six Months Apart

DeepSeek is based in Hangzhou and was founded by Liang Wenfeng. The source account describes the company as owned by hedge fund High-Flyer. Before the latest reports, DeepSeek had been associated with funding from that owner rather than a large outside financing round. Its first reported external round closed in June, at more than 50 billion yuan (about $7.4 billion), according to The Information. A stock-exchange filing reviewed by Caixin was later cited as indicating a post-money valuation above 350 billion yuan.

The two financing stories can be easy to confuse. In April, before the first round, The Information reported that Tencent and Alibaba were in talks to invest at a valuation above $20 billion. The supplied account says Alibaba does not appear on the reported investor lists for either completed round. Reports on the June financing named Tencent and CATL, as well as Liang’s own contribution. That history gives context to the current reports, but does not independently establish the participants or terms of the October round.

Ownership information also has limits. Caixin reported that a state-linked national AI investment fund held about 0.28% after the June round, while Liang held about 91% of registered capital directly or through a partnership he controls, according to the last reported register described in the source material. No reported registry update for the October financing is available in that account, so those earlier figures do not establish the current ownership split.

“The round was “wrapping up.””

— Reuters, citing four people, in its Oct. 22 report

Amount, Backers and Ownership

The final amount remains unsettled in public reporting: Bloomberg, Reuters and The Wall Street Journal cite about 100 billion yuan, while The Information reports 106 billion yuan and says the round is closed. DeepSeek has not publicly confirmed either figure. The supplied material gives no company statement clarifying the financing’s exact terms.

There is also a gap between reports on investor composition. CATL and Tencent are named by multiple outlets, but the claim that the state chip fund led the round, with 27% state capital, is attributed in the source account to summaries of The Information’s reporting and has not been independently verified there. The latest reported ownership register predates the October round, leaving the current shareholdings and any change to Liang’s control unknown.

Separately, the reported annualized $1 billion revenue pace is an investor-facing statement attributed to Liang, not an audited disclosure. The funding reports do not establish how much of the capital will go to computing, research or other uses, nor whether the financing changes DeepSeek’s product plans.

Watch for Company and Registry Disclosures

The clearest next confirmation would be a statement from DeepSeek or updated corporate records that specify the amount raised, the investors, the valuation and the resulting ownership. Until then, the financing details remain based on media reports, with some investor claims less corroborated than others.

Companies using DeepSeek should keep track of the particular service they rely on. The source account says the open model weights are available under a permissive MIT licence and can be run on an organization’s own servers, while DeepSeek’s hosted app and API store data in China. It also reports that a U.S. Department of Homeland Security order dated Oct. 20 requires federal civilian agencies to remove DeepSeek products from their IT systems. Those points concern different routes of use; the reported fundraising does not itself change them.

Key Questions

Has DeepSeek confirmed that it raised $16 billion?

No. The Information reported a closed round of 106 billion yuan, about $15.9 billion, while Bloomberg, Reuters and The Wall Street Journal reported about 100 billion yuan. DeepSeek has not publicly confirmed the raise in the supplied material.

Who reportedly invested in the round?

Bloomberg and Reuters identify CATL and Tencent among the largest investors. Reuters also names other companies and investment funds. The Information reportedly described participation by state-backed institutions, but specific claims about which state fund led and its share of the round are not independently verified in the source account.

What valuation did reports attach to the financing?

Reports put DeepSeek’s pre-money valuation at about 500 billion yuan, roughly $74 billion. The company has not publicly confirmed that figure.

Does the fundraising report change how customers can use DeepSeek?

The reported financing does not itself announce a product or licence change. The source material distinguishes DeepSeek’s hosted app and API, which it says store data in China, from open model weights that can be run on a customer’s own servers under an MIT licence. Organizations should check the terms and requirements that apply to their chosen option.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Why European Countries Are Shopping For New AI Partners Beyond Palantir

European nations are actively procuring alternative AI systems to Palantir, citing sovereignty and security concerns amid shifting transatlantic relations.

Does The $400 Million Public AI Project Strengthen Sovereignty Or Serve Political Goals?

A France-backed $400 million public AI initiative shows limited progress after 17 months, raising questions about its focus on sovereignty versus political motives.

OpenAI limits GPT-5.6 rollout after government request, says restrictions shouldn’t be the norm

OpenAI restricts the rollout of GPT-5.6 models following government pressure, citing security concerns and regulatory constraints.

Expanding Our Partnership With GSA To Bring Claude To All Levels Of Government – Anthropic

Anthropic says it is expanding its GSA partnership to bring Claude to government, but has not disclosed coverage, terms, safeguards or a rollout date.