🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Raises ChatGPT Pro Limits And Drops The Pro 200 Cut on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500. The changes took effect October 29, 2026, without price increases; some other ChatGPT limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to release notes dated October 29. The changes took effect immediately, with subscription prices unchanged, and came one day before the Pro 200 cut was due to begin.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so the change increases the shared pool available for those activities. OpenAI’s updated help page says subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal date.
For Pro 200, OpenAI canceled the reduction announced in September. Its help page says only subscribers on the lower allowance receive an increase: their allowance doubles to match the higher allowance already available to some subscribers. Those who already had the higher allowance keep it; the change does not double everyone’s existing Pro 200 usage.
The update does not raise every limit. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. Ultrafast, a faster speed mode, remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI also said Business Premium seats would receive more usage but did not specify a multiplier in its release notes.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What Changes for Pro Subscribers
The change matters to subscribers who use ChatGPT for extended research, document work and coding, because those tasks draw on the shared Work and Codex allowance. A larger allowance may provide more room for those activities before users reach a usage limit. It does not mean every ChatGPT feature, model or speed mode has received more capacity.
For people on Pro 200, the key news is that the announced cut will not take effect, rather than that every subscriber gets twice as much as before. The distinction affects comparisons between plans and whether an upgrade is worthwhile. OpenAI says usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode, so a doubled allowance does not translate into a guaranteed doubling of completed work.
Businesses may need to review which employees have premium seats and how they use them, but the announcement does not change API budgets or establish that API usage is part of these plan allowances. The terms apply to ChatGPT Work and Codex usage, and the company’s release notes do not provide a numerical increase for Business Premium.
Products Worth Considering

Samsung 27-inch Odyssey OLED G6 QD-OLED QHD Gaming Monitor

LG UltraGear 32GX850A-B 32-Inch 4K UHD Glossy OLED Gaming Monitor

Samsung 27 Odyssey OLED G5 (G50SF) QHD QD-OLED Gaming Monitor
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Change Reversed
The decision follows a series of changes to the Pro lineup. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported at the time that OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement was a comment about demand, not an independently published usage measure.
On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. Its announcement said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive further details by email, while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200. A company post described the plan ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing Pro 200 subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier for a time.
The October 29 release note reversed the planned reduction before its October 30 start date. OpenAI published the update in its ChatGPT and ChatGPT Business release notes and revised its Pro-tier help page. That updated help page is the clearest source for which limits changed and which stayed the same.
“We heard your kind feedback.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
Business and Usage Details Still Open
OpenAI’s release notes confirm that Business Premium usage is increasing, but do not state the size of the increase. Sottiaux’s post says it is doubling; the release note itself does not give that factor. The available information therefore does not establish a precise Business Premium allowance change in the same way it does for Pro 100 and Pro 500.
OpenAI has also not provided a single amount of work that subscribers can expect to complete with the added allowance. It says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. The update concerns Work and Codex allowances, not every ChatGPT limit, and the supplied announcement does not specify changes for Free, Go or Business Standard plans.
The source material says always-on agents called Dots retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately. The longer-term status of those limits is not stated. OpenAI has not detailed whether or when further plan or allowance changes may follow.
Check Plan Limits After the Update
Existing subscribers do not need to take action to receive the revised allowance; OpenAI says it applies automatically and immediately, rather than at the next billing renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page to see the limits attached to their plan and confirm how the change applies to their subscription.
For organizations, the next practical step is to review seat assignments and usage patterns, while keeping ChatGPT subscription allowances separate from API budgets. OpenAI’s public materials do not give a date for another update or a fuller breakdown of Business Premium usage. Further clarification would be needed to establish the exact business allowance and how OpenAI will communicate any future changes.
Key Questions
What did OpenAI change on October 29?
OpenAI doubled Work and Codex allowances on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and canceled a planned reduction to Pro 200. It also said Business Premium usage is increasing, without giving a numerical factor in its release notes.
Does every Pro 200 subscriber now get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI’s help page says the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled to match the higher allowance. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, rather than receiving another doubling.
Did OpenAI raise subscription prices?
No price increase is included in the October 29 announcement. The supplied information says plan prices are unchanged.
Did all ChatGPT limits increase?
No. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, and weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. The increased allowances apply to Work and Codex; Pro 200’s lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit was raised to match the higher one.
Do current subscribers need to renew or take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page for plan-specific details.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
